Hi from CT

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MFC

Reaction score
Hello all - I've been lurking for some time and figured I should try to add in any way that I can because I have learned a great deal here. My name is Mike and I live in CT. I have been making wine for 3 years by myself now and since I was little with family (old school Italian way). I have made lots of Zin both using the more mondern apporach (recomended) and using no sulfates or yeast packets ( I don't do it this way anymore). I really enjoy Zinfandel and if anyone wants to know how to make it the old school way even though it's not recomended I can let you know the recipe. I have also made some whites with mixed results.

Anyway hello and hopefully I can add something to the discussions here even though there are clearly more knowledgeable folks.

The recipe? Grapes! :) Welcome Mike, Im down here in Middlebury and glad to have you aboard1

Mike welcome to our forum. We have several great wine makers up in CT. Please feel free to chime in any time to assist or ask questions.

The recipe? Grapes! :) Welcome Mike, Im down here in Middlebury and glad to have you aboard1

Hi Wade - Yes lol the recipe. All the old dudes I know swear by it. Its part Zin grapes part Alicante grapes and various processes that I am sure are worthless but they continue to do anyway b/c that's how they learned it. If you were to watch I'm sure it would make an amusing show.

Middlebury eh, not to far, I live in Branford. Where do you get your grapes? I added LC Cash and Carry to the Map feature that is on this website because that's where I get my grapes from and it was not listed. Thanks for the welcome I am sure I'll have some questions in the future.