Total NOOB from CT

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roadpupp

Reaction score
Hey guys-

I recently got very interested in making wine after going to a friends house who made some rather successful wine. I was suprised at how easy it looked (I think I know differently now) and how young wine wasn't so bad.

I typically drink a glass or two of Spicy Zin or medium bodied Cab a night. I buy in the $12-$20 a bottle range and I am really hoping to invest that cash into a good starter set up and begin making wine.

I Have watched a few videos and read a few guides and feel ready to purchase a starter kit.

Fine vine wines has a $179 deluxe kit with bottle cleaning rack and most of what I think I will need. Any others I should consider?

I am considering this kit and wanted any feedback you guys might have.

Also, I am wondering where most of you make wine?
Where do you let it ferment?
Does it smell strongly?
I have a workshop in the basment that probably stays 75 degrees but I am not certain ( will have to check). It also has a floor drain and I'm considering adding a sink.

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions on vendors, an equipment kit and any advice on good wine ingredients for my tastes.

Thanks!
Chad