strawberry wine malolactic fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
From what I have read I would say no. but on the other hand I have never done it before.
I think the shtick is the strawberry wine doesn't last long enough to benefit.

I think that if you do a MLF on it, you will not be able to backsweeten it, because you can't add Potassium Sorbate to a wine that has undergone MLF. This will cause a wine fault that makes it taste like a geranium. And without sorbate it will likely start fermenting again when you sweeten it.

If you plan on a dry strawberry wine, then I guess you could try MLF. Not positive how much malic acid you'll find in a strawberry wine though, probably not enough to warrant it though. I could be wrong.

Please correct me if I am wrong. You can't do mlf on wine that has sorbate. But You can sorbate a wine that has been through mlf. It is the conversion from malo to lactic acid that causes the geranium smell.
SJO

I agree with the others that say not to do it. Any of the MLF instructions, that you can find online, will tell you not to MLF fruits other than grapes because it destroys the distinct profile of a fruit wine. It reduces the fruit flavor.

It's interesting that an MLF can occur in a sorbated wine---some of us have seen this in a spontainious MLF on something like a blackberry wine. TECHNICALLY you could sorbate an MLF wine if there is NO malic left in the wine. BUT, it's still a dicey thing to contemplate because you can never be TOTALLY sure that all the malic has been metabolized. So the best advice is not to sorbate. The sorbate is what causes the geranium or fish smell--not the conversion from malic to lactic acid.