Skeeter Pee

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wade E

Premium
Reaction score
Anyone here making this stuff? It has exploded on some other forums and this is the label I will use when I get around to making myself a batch soon.
20100601_225727_mosquito.jpg

Its like a hard lemonade.  You make it from Lemon juice, but pitch it over a yeast slurry of a previous batch of wine.  Heard its good.  Haven't tried it yet.

Skeeter Pee

I've been making a version of this for a couple of years now, kinda glad I just called
it hard lemonade! Here is the label I use and I just adjust it to what ever leftovers it gets dumped onto.

20100602_075356_2008_Hard_Lemon.jpg

That sounds good, summer is a coming. Think dandelion slurry would be a good start or cherry or raspberry...

Here's the recipeeeee...

Created by Lon DePoppe - St. James, MN

<DIV ="Normal">
The original, inexpensive, quick, easy to make, easy to drink, naturally fermented, lemon, hot-weather, thirst quencher.

For a 5 gallon batch

3 bottles of 32oz 100% lemon juice (e.g ReaLemon in the green plastic bottles or equivalent)
7 lbs sugar (or 16 cups)
3/4 tsp tannin
6 tsp. yeast nutrient

2 tsp. yeast energizer

Approx, 4 ¾ gallons water

Yeast Slurry

Potassium metabisulfite (Kmeta)

Potassium sorbate (sorbate)

Sparkolloid

Many people have difficulty getting lemonade to ferment. This is due, I believe, to several factors. The high acidity, the lack of natural nutrients, and preservatives that are often included in the lemon juice. Therefore, I do whatever I can to assist the process.