single gallon equipment

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaniJ323

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to wine making, and I've only done kits. I'm thinking of trying something different, something simple. Maybe from a frozen concentrate. Only a gallon size rather than trying a 'from scratch' recipe making 5 or 6 gallons (I may not like it or it may not turn out). My question is this... where do you find a single gallon primarly or secondary? What do you use? Is it okay to use a 6 gallon primary with only 1 gallon of must?

Thanks again for your infinite knowledge and the willingness to share it ;o)

Danj, a lot of folks make gallon batches. I made one once and won't do it again. It turned out fantastic. I only got a few bottles and have to wait forever for the next batch. Fron now on it'll only be 5 or 6 gallons for me. I would rather dump a bad six than make a great one and have to wait forever for more. It no more labor nut a lot more wine in my eyes.

Dani:

I picked up some free 3 gallon plastic pails from a local ice cream shop. Work well as primaries for small batches, cleaning buckets, and other things.

Just a brief reminder when looking at recipes, and equipment. There are three gallons...

1. US gallon. 3.78 litres
2. Imperial gallon. 4.54 litres
3. Approximate gallon. 4 litres

Steve

Thanks, I definitely see your point there Running Wolf... maybe I will reconsider. I feel kinda stuck, I don't really want to try another kit just yet. I'm ready to stretch my wings and take this hobby to the next step. i just don't know where to start.

I pretty much do 1gl batches exclusively. I start with about 6qt and ferment in a 3gl carboy. That gives me a full gallon jug with extra for topping up.