yeast doesn't work

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hiderbrau

Junior
Reaction score
I am new here and a rank amateur, but I have been making beer for 20 years and wine for 4-5 years. I am very familiar with the fermentation process. I recently pitched a 5 gallon batch of Muscadine grape wine and nothing happened. (I have made 3 previous batches of Muscadine) I assumed the yeast was dead and pitched it again. Nothing. Bought some new yeast and pitched again. (SG is 1.12 and holding) Finally, after seven weeks, (and five or six doses of yeast) I was about to throw it away or give it to my wife to make jelly but I pitched it again. This time with distillers yeast and it went crazy. After a week of gurgling and foaming I have racked it and it is looking and tasting great. What is going on????

If distillers yeast is what I think it is, it is also called turbo yeast. If so, that contains yeast nutrients (and probably other stuff). Maybe that's why the yeast didn't bite at first.

As Julie asked, temperature could be an issue.

Also, it might be good to know which yeast you were using it. Did you just sprinkle on top, or did you make a starter. If you made a starter what method did you use?

BTW, turbo yeast is know to produce some off flavours in the result. Good luck with that.

Steve