Wine from Merlot grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Car-Boy

Reaction score
I have been making kit wine for a little over 2 years. I have a friend who started a small vineyard with about 70 vines, Cabernet, Merlot, Sangovese, and a couple othervarities. He has never made wine and he thinks since I have made wine from kitsit should be a piece of cake to do it from grapes. I know that is not true and have been reading several recipies from Evans Cellars, but still need more step by step directions.

Do you have a crusher/destemmer or are you planning on doing this all by hand? You will want a refractometer to know when the grapes are at the right brix and a ph tester also. We can walk you through it though.

When did your buddy start these vine? For Merlot it will take 3-5 years before he would get an appreciable crop. If he has grapes this year in small quantities, you can destem by hand or improvise a cheap destemmer. Once he starts getting more, it will be a lot of work. The process isn't difficult- just go step by step. Give us a bit more information and I am sure we can help you out.

Thanks for your replies! My buddy started his vines 3 years ago. He is planning on buying some of the stuff we will need.We hope to start off small this year and once we get to know what we are getting into, go from there. I think harvest in the Mesilla Valley area is usually mid August to mid September. That is why I wanted to start this post early enough to see if the stuff I have frommy kitsneeds to be up graded, and what else we will need. I currently have 2 fermenting buckets andthree 6 gal. carboys.

you will need a lot of carboys and some big fermenting vessels or maybe a variable capacity or 2.