what spices in concord grape wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zack67360

Reaction score
Hi,
Due to the drought this year, my little vineyard will not bear enough grapes to make even 5 gallons of wine. I have called the local vineyards and they said they will not be selling grapes this year due to the reduced harvest. So, I figure I'll just buy some Welchs grape juice to fill the 5 gallon primary with after adding my own grapes. But I have read that concord has a musky taste. So I thought I may add some sort of spice to the primary. Problem is I have no experience with adding spices to wine. What is the concencus to which spice taste best in concord wine, and how much? Thank you in advance,
zack

Hi Zack,

I have no idea on what spice would go with concord but I was thinking of adding pepper to a batch of concord

I have never heard of adding spices to a concord. I would consider either getting some diamond or niagara juice locally and adding that if you can or else get some Welches concentrate to blend with it.

Some people call it a foxy taste, which is really saying grapes taste like grapes. Think grape juice- that is the flavor of Concord and there is nothing wrong with it. Celebrate the wine for what it has to offer, not try to cover it up. It is like trying to cover up the smell of roses with another flower. Smell the roses............
Just my small take on it.

I like black cherry juice with concord. A lot!

actually i did a concord cranberry blend that is awesome

I bet that is good. I wish I could find a local source for pure cranberry

Thank you for the replies, guess I'll forget the spices and stick with a juice blend then. Both the black cherry and cranberry mixed with the concord sound good. Bob and Julie, did go with a 50/50 blend of the juices?