Problem with Muscadine Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wildridge

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new to the forum. I've ordered from George before so I decided to join and post my question here. I'm still new to wine making. I've fermented a kit very succesfully, but I'm having a problem with my first attempt at muscadine wine.

The wine is very very tart. I added what I thought was the right amount of water and the right amount of sugar after killing the yeast. I figured this would balance it out, but it's still very tart. I'm sure that everything was sterile, so I don't think that's the problem.

Any suggestions?

ditto, check the acid and PH. Then think about calcium carbonate and cold stabilizing. Possibly malolactic fermentation. Though, don't add sorbate at this time, until you test the acid.If you add it now you won't be able to do a ML fermentation.

No, I don't have an acid test kit, but it is on my list of things to order. I've read about calcium carbonate, cold stablization, and malolactic fermentation. I didn't know if this was an acid problem or something else. I guess I'll find out when the acid test kit gets here. How can I make the wine taste a little more fruity like fresh muscadines? I want this to be something that can be enjoyed in the hot summer months.

wildridge, muscadines are highly acidic . At what stage are you at on the Muscadine? If you are in the primary fermentation stage go ahead and add some calcium carbonate. What size batch are you making? I would start with 1 TSP. per gallon dissolved in some of your must and then stirred back in. Let it set at least a day and repeat if necessary until you get the tartness to a level you desire.

Hi Wildridge, welcome to the forum. Can you give us some details. Like the recipe, starting SG. etc. this will help us narrow it down.