Newbie apple wine question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CajunTim

Reaction score
Hiya all,
My name is Tim and I am a newbie to wine making. I have been wanting to make wine now for about 6 years or so, but things just seem to keep coming up in life when your younger. Now that I am a little older and things are settled down < for now anyway >
smiley36.gif
I will check off this box of my “Things to do before I die” list.
I will be trying a one gallon organic apple juice from the health store soon. Although I have read most of this site and most of Jack Kellers site I may have a question or two along the way. Hope some of you might be able to help.
Some questions seem to have answers I am not sure of just yet. Only question I have right now is two recipes for apple have all the same ingredients, but one calls for yeast to be sprinkled on top and the other calls for a yeast starter. Is apple juice hard to get kicked off, or will they both do ok? I live if FL. It’s a little warmer here.
Sorry for the long post, but I wanted to give a little background first.
Thanks, Tim

Welcome Tim and glad you are finally getting a chance to pursue a passion. They are plenty of friendly folk on here to help you along the way. I have made a couple of batches of Apple wine and for all of my country wines I make a yeast starter. My thinking is that it gives the yeasty beasties a running start on doing what they are designed to do and why take a chance on another method failing. Thats just my two cents on the subject. Good luck and keep us updated on how it goes. We love pictures too......loads of pictures
smiley36.gif
Edited by: Waldo

Thanks Waldo,
I think I will go that route. I better get going on it soon if I want to start by Sat. I will keep yall posted. And Pics? Now there’s something I can do. Have cam, can shoot.
smiley1.gif