Hello From Halifax!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeanVin

aka Mr. Butter Fingers
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am new to the forums in both here and in wine making in general. I have been making kit wines for about four years now, mostly reds, and I am starting to make my own fruit wines. Right now I have a carboy full of Blueberry wine and another full of apple cranberry. I am looking forward to getting to know you all here and swapping some stories and tips.

Thanks!
Jean

Welcome to the forum, Jean. Lot's of fruit wine expertise on the forum.

Welcome fellow maritimer :)

I just transfered to my secondary last night my crab apple wine with apples I picked up in cap breton 2 weeks ago. I was wisiting my girlfriend who worked there for the last two years (she's moving back next weeend).

I've never made a wine kit before but I've made a dozen of fruit wine batches and so far I love it. It's more work (picking, washing, juicing etc) but the end results are great so far.

Make sure to read old posts, there's alot of knowledge in here!! :D

cheers

Jean, welcome as well!

Dont forget. When you purchase a kit, you are essentially paying for the "juice" concentrate/ This may be from an outstanding, once in a lifetime grape harvest somewher and only offered in a limited addition. It may also be just concentrated fruit jice.

If you look through any wine making catalog, you will find many options for concentrated juices. These are the very ones that come within a kit.

You of course will need to supply your own yeast, chemicals etc. But, not to worry.

Thats why this forum is here.

Many people disregard the fact that even frozen juice concentrate from your local store can be diluted and used to make some fantastic wine, provided it is 100% juice. Again, concentrated fruit juice you find in a kit is just that.