Hello All! Newbie Here! Started my Blackb

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ashton Hammar

Reaction score
Hello All!

Just wanted to say hello to everyone - I just recently got into wine making and just started my first 5G Blackberry Wine. Thank you all - I found this forum a few days ago and have been reading all the posts and topics. It has helped greatly and reduced my apprehensions on screwing up to much... not to say that I haven't already. LOL

Question: When I eventually rack into the secondary and degas do most people usually wait 3-4 wks before stabilizing (or until relatively clear)? What ratio of meta do you add to the wine?

Thanks!

Welcome ashton,,,Hope you enjoy your stay here....

I am sure members will help you with your questions...

I've learned so much here while others held my hand through some new experiences.

I always add 1/4 tsp of k-meta and recommended amount of sorbate per 5-6 gallon batch and then degas as degassing a wine will help the wine clear faster. I say recommended dosage of sorbate because some manufacturers specify different amounts but its typically 1/4 -1/2 tsp. per gallon. After that you can let time clear the wine or use a fining agent such as SuperKleer KC. Welcome to this forum and hope you stay awhile and share with us more about yourself.