Other Addicted

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Prince

Reaction score
I don't know a lot about wines. I do like the taste of red wine usually house wine. I'm a cheap airline pilot. I started making wine 4 weeks ago. I'm addicted! I've made one batch, started two and ordered two more, plus going to make a home recipe. This website has been very helpful in all my questions. It looks like I will have well over 400 bottles before I get to drink them. I hope I'm doing it right. Any good books to read?

John,

There are a number of books that you could read on the subject, but I suggest that you just surf this forum and read the posts that are of interest. If you can't find what you are looking for, post the question. Here you will find people posting the history of their kit from the day they received it from FedEx until they bottle it. You will learn a lot and if you use the "search" feature, you will be able to find anything you need to know.

Rocky, have you taken any classes on wine tasting or making? If so, which ones?

ERR... Welcome to a soon to be OBSESSION... LOL

Time to order more carboys. It sounds like you're hooked. Welcome to the obsession. There's a lot of infohere on wine making and a lot of people who love to answer questions. Ask away. Good Luck!!!

No, John, no formal classes but I started making wine in 1948 with my Father, Grandfather and Uncles. We would make as much as 5 barrels per year for the whole family. Iwas involved in making wine every year fromthen until about 1976 when I moved out of the Pittsburgh area. I took up the hobby again in the early 1990's in Rochester, New York until I retired and moved to Ohio (to be near our Daughter and Grandchildren) in 1999. Up to this time, everything was made from grapes or other fruits, e.g. cherries.