What size carboys?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roadpupp

Reaction score
Hey all-

I am just getting started and found a friend of a friend who is selling a number of different used glass carboys.

$15-20 each.

3 gal
6.5 gal

I have a single 6 gallon and shortly will be putting my first kit into it.

The plans for now are to do several kit wines and I could see myself doing fresh juice perhaps in the fall. I'm not sure about country wines, at least for awhile.

It seems like most of the kits are 6 gallons.

What do you recommend I buy to add to my arsenal?

Thanks!

I'd buy as many of the 6.5, 6 and 5 as you can afford, in that order. At least around here, those are darned good prices, and you'll need them sooner than you think. ;)

I found two 7.5-gallon used carboys locally at $35 each and I am so glad I bought them. They have been really handy, since those 2 will go into 3 of the 5-gallon size.

I'm going to go a different route. I like the 5 gallon carboys. With juice buckets you start with 6 gallons and end with about 5.5 gallons. Excess from the 5's will go into gallons, 1/2 gallons, 3 liter, and 1.5 liter bottles. I currently have 4-3 gallon. Wish I had a few more.

I suppose I should have "outed" myself in my reply and said I've never made a kit or juice bucket wine. I'm interested in making 10 or 15 gallons at a time of a "scratch" wine from fruit or a frozen concentrate - I figure it's the same work, more wine.

I found that with the kit wines, where you are using juice, it's nice to have a 6 gallon carboy to ferment in, and a 5 gallon to rack it into.

If you have a bad back, buy several of the 3 gallons. They are much easier to pickup.

You will need at least one 6 gallon to match the one you already have.