to high of an SG?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kk1224kelley

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at creating a batch of wine. I went with 3 gallons of grape concentrate. In my studies of how to, I read that a starting SG of 1.160 will result in a very sweet wine. So, thats exactly what i did, being that i wanted a very sweet wine.(my starting SG was 1.160)
My batch has been fermenting for 5 days now and i was wondering a few things.
Will it just end up dry and very strong(high alcohol)?
Should I stop fermentation at the desired sweetness or allow it to finish then sweeten?
(a big concern of mine)Is SG of 1.160 too extreme of a starting point?

And when i need to top off, instead of water can i just use more grape concentrate to keep from diluting the grape flavor?

Thanks for any helpful comments.

Sounds a little on the high side for a wine from grape concentrate. It will end up being rocket fuel more than likely. A starting SG of about 1.085 is better for something like this. Let it ferment to dry then back sweeten is much easier usually.

Not sure what to do at his point. Perhaps someone with more experience with making wine from concentrate will pop in here shortly!

Whats the SG now? Is it still dropping?

If its still dropping, add 3 more gallons of water, remeasure your SG and adjust accordingly (up to 1.070-1.090, 10-12% alcohol - including the alcohol already made, found easily by looking at your hydrometer for the difference in starting SG & current SG). Use some more grape concentrate to make up for flavor loss and fine tune with cane sugar. Add some more yeast nutrient and yeast energizer if you have them, to keep the yeast healthy.