Racking and use of fermenter

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wine-o-Dale

Junior
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and have been reading this forum. Thanks for all the great information. I'm traveling around the US for a year or two or three in a travel trailer, wanting to see the US. I don't have much room, so I only have one 6-gal primary and one 5-gal glass carboy. I just started my first batch, its a sun-cal concentrated juice kit that I started at an sg of 1.090 and its on day 4 right now and this morning it was at 1.030, expecting it to get down to 1.020 tomorrow and ready to syphon into the secondary. My question is I think I can transfer the wine via the valve on the bottom of the primary attached to a syphon hose but won't be able to filter it. The kit calls me to rack it again after two weeks back into the priimary (I guess), should I use camden tablets at that time? I've read that you use the camden tablets every other rack. If I did, wouldn't that prevent further fermentation? and if I did use them how much? 1 crushed tablet per gallon? or should I just do that just before bottling time. I don't understand how ofter to use them. The kit does not say to use them until bottling time, but I've just read to use them every other rack? Explain?

I would also assume once I syphon it back into the primary in two weeks, that I would really have to put it back into the glass secondary (same day), since I need to keep most of the air out and there would be too much in the primary (6-gal).

Thanks and sorry for the newbie questions... can't wait to start creating my own as I travel. I'm in GA now, maybe peaches next?

Wine-o-Dale,