Quick ? about my next step in my Strawberry Wine...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lherndo

Reaction score
This is my first attempt, so I'm not expecting a whole lot.:h

I think I might have over read on this subject before I started because I went from knowing what to do with a recipe in hand to being really confused with about 10 different Strawberry wine recipes floating in my head and out of my printer.

Anyways, started with 20# of thawed strawberries and 10#'s of sugar. I dissolved my sugar, yeast nutrient, crushed campden tabs, and acid blend. With strawberries an a mesh bag they're all hanging out in my primary fermenter for 24 hours before i had my yeast.

Now, as for note taking, before I add my yeast I need to do a SG reading and start tracking it down. Again the recipe called for the 10 lbs of sugar, but what should my SG start at? My yeast is Lalvin K1-V1116.

So my next step is to take a SG reading, add the yeast and stir, and stir daily and take SG readings right?

Some recipes called for Tannin, should I add that? is it too late since i haven't added my yeast?

Thanks for any and all help, I'm really excited about this new hobby. I just need to get one batch down. Reading it makes sense but doing it is very different. Just need to knock one out and learn.

You want a starting gravity around 1.080 and once it drops to around 1.010 you need to rack to a carboy. Can you post the complete recipe?

5 Gallon Recipe

# 20 lbs chopped strawberries
# 10 lbs. granulated sugar
acid blend
pectic enzyme
# 5 crushed Campden tablet
# Yeast and nutrient

Don't have the exact amount of Acid and Pectin memorized and recipe isn't in front of me.

I can't wait to get home and measure my SG.

I dont undrestand why you did not take a starting reading??