How long is TOO long to leave in primary fermentation?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first time making wine from fruit. I made from a kit once before and it turned out amazing, but I am now attempting to make from real fruit.

I seem to be having quite a bit of trouble with fermentation and worry my wine might be ruined.

Here is what has happened:

I made my wine from a recipe I found online, and there were about three recipes from three sites that were very similar.

Add 2.5 lbs of sugar is to bottled water and boiled
Mashed up 3.5 lbs of blueberries in mesh bag, added the sugar water
Added water to gallon mark
Added about 1/8 tsp or potassium metabisulfite
Added bun and airlock
Stirred 2x a day for 2 days

Then I attempted to rehydrate 1/4 packet of yeast using boiled water. I followed instructions but this was my first time doing this so this may be where I went wrong.

Then I added:
1/2 tsp pectin enzyme
1/2 tsp wine tannin
1 tsp yeast energizer
And 1 squeezed organic lemon

I added enough water to get specific gravity to 1.096 then added the yeast and put a lid a bing and airlock

So here’s where I’m stuck:

My fermentation seems to be going very slowly. The recipes said this process should take 1-3 weeks but it has been over a month!

After 1 week my specific gravity was 1.079

At about a week and a half I was at 1.073.
At this point I was advised to try taking the lid off and covering it with a towel, so I tried that for a while.

After about 2 weeks I was at 1.060 and was advised to try adding more yeast energizer. I added 1/4 tsp.

Week 3 I was at 1.052

Week 4 I was at 1.045
The kid being off here made me nervous since it had been a month so I sanitized it and put it back on with the hung and airlock. The next day I added more yeast energizer. 1/2 tsp this time.