RJ Spagnols First Kit: Banana Pineapple Viognier

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeepbabe

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

I am a newbie here in the winemaking world. I am about to make my first kit: Banana Pineapple Viognier and wanted to know if anyone has made this kit before and how it came out for you. I am also debating increasing the alcohol content on this kit but am not sure if I should go there since it is my first go at wine making. I want this to be my summer patio wine.

Any thoughts or words of wisdom for my first kit? By the way, after this kit I am going to make the OB Peach Chardonnay, CC Gruner Veltliner and the Renaissance Viognier. </PRE></PRE></PRE>

Some folks do add sugar to these kits but if you do that on your first one and don't like it, you won't know if it was the kit or the change you made to it. I think it's best to do the first one according to directions and save the tweaking for later.

If you have the equipment for it and want to experiment, you could split it in half and add sugar to one and not the other but that would require another fermentor and 3 gallon carboys.

If you do add sugar, I wouldn't shoot for over about 9% alcohol--too much alcohol and they can taste "hot" (they were not designed to be 12-13% alcohol).

Thank you both for your replies. Today I made the kit according to the directions like Jackie suggested. Everything went well and now I am just waiting to proceed to the next step. I am already thinking about my next kit but am only making one at a time- at least for now! I will start the Peach Chardonnay after I am finished with this one. That way I will have two choices for my summer wine.
smiley16.gif