Tropical punch

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old_timer

Junior
Reaction score
Yesterday at Thanksgiving my in-laws mentioned they wanted me to make a tropical punch wine for the beach in about 6 months. I have enough to make a 5 gallon batch but will tropical fruit wine be aged enough to be enjoyable in 6 months? Here is what I am using most was on hand.

4 bananas
3 kiwi
1 pineapple
1 mango
1 pomegranate

Juices
Apple
Pineapple
Tart cherry
White grape

Acid
I have a lemon and a few limes I am going to zest and maybe squeeze to get the pH right.

10-12 pounds of sugar.

I have no experience with any of the tropical fruit and I have no clue on how long they should age. Can I use orange juice I have always heard oranges can be rough to age

How many total pounds of fruit do you have? How much juice are you using?

You can make something drinkable in the 6 month range. It will be better with another few months of aging, but for beach wine? It should be fine.

Do not go by "pounds of sugar" -- use your hydrometer and figure how much sugar is required to hit your target. To make a faster aging wine you want the ABV lower. 10% - 11%. Put the fruit and juices together and let meld overnight. Check the SG and then add enough sugar to bump the SG to 1.075 - 1.080.

1 lb sugar will bump 1 US gallon water from 1.000 to 1.045. If you have 5 gallons of must with an OG of 1.045 and you want to bump it to 1.075, you only need 3.3 lbs sugar.

I had calculated the approximate sugar in juice and fruit and then calculated the amount of sugar for approximately 15%abv.

5 pounds 13oz or 2640 grams of fruit. I hadn't thought about higher abv and aging other than doing a cider vs wine. I have a habit with higher abv in wine for preservation purposes. I prefer not to add to many chemicals.