Degassing Techniques...Need everyones input please!!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pightr

Reaction score
Hi all, I just wanted to post this thread up because I have searched around this forum and there doesn’t seem to be a dedicated degassing thread. Seeing how there are so many different ways and opinions on how to degas I would like to see everyone’s different techniques here. Seeing how gas gave me a big problem with my first attempt at making wine and I am still a newbie here I would greatly appreciate all the input. In my opinion this should be a dedicated thread like the wine terms is. I have looked around the forum for different suggestions on how to degas but I think it would benefit many beginners like myself on how to degas properly.

Please leave your technique in detail on this thread. What you use, what you have used in the past, what you feel works best, what you feel works worst, how long you do your degassing process, how you have handled problems with gas before, and any other information you feel will be useful for people like myself new to wine making. Thanks in advance to everyone who replies to this thread.

Well I started with using the spoon to degas and found that very labor intensive and not very good so immediately upgraded to a drill mounted mix stirrer which works pretty well but leaves you guessing on if you did a good job or not. From there I used the Mityvac brake bleeder after using the drill mounted stirrer and together they make an awesome team as you have a gauge to know when you are done. Now a days I use an electric vacuum pump and get the job done fast and perfect.