Could i just hammer in a short cork screw?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akbar67

Junior
Reaction score
Hello, I am a beginner who lives in a country where wine-making equipment is not readily available. I have not been able to find long cork screws or a device to push them into the bottle.
After a lot of driving around, what I've found so far is 2-liter bottles with a short cork screw. Please see pics. The cork screw is about an inch or 25mm high. The opening of the bottle also about an inch.
My questions: could I just sufficient airtightness by just hammering the cork screw in? And does the corkscrew seem like of adequate type and quality? I plan to store the wine in such bottles for a few years.
Many thanks for your attion.
I apologize in advance for your ignorance and questions that might seem asinine to you. I am just trying to make do with what I can find. The only other option would be to store in screw top plastic water bottles (which is what 99% of everyone else here does) which I am trying to avoid.

thanks for your attention.
photo_2022-11-27_13-57-02-600x600.jpg
IMG_20231017_195209.jpg

IMG_20231017_195310.jpg
photo_2022-11-27_13-57-02-600x600.jpg

Welcome to Wine Making Talk.

this cork is something you would have to try and report back. From the US point of view a #9 straight cork is available so this is the standard. Nomacork/ synthetic also exists. A natural cork has two functions. 1) contain the liquid and 2) allow about 5mg oxygen per year in to react with tannins ( create smooth flavor). ,,, Your available cork is short so oxygen control probably is poor. A traditional way to improve the barrier is to dip the cork in wax.