Skeeter Pee question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonyt

Reaction score
I am fermenting a Misti Bourg Royal Blanc and want to use the must to start my first batch of SP. The Mosti instructions say to stir and rack after 3-5 days sg of 1.03 or so and to transfer most of the must. Do I use whatever little must there will be from this first racking or from the next racking. Or do y'all recommend fermenting in primary till dry and skipping the in between racking. That is how I do my reds but since this is my first white my initial plan was to follow the instructions closely (even though I have added white grapes and may add a tiny bit of oak later).

That is a good question, I have been making kits for 3 years and have never stirred, I know it says to.... I just never have

Interesting instructions. Usually, the word "racking" is used when they want you to remove wine from the settled deposits. If they want to retain the deposits in the wine, they'll usually use the word "transfer". By stirring and then racking, I wonder what the purpose of the racking is? If the idea of stirring is to make sure you carry plenty of yeast over to the secondary, I wonder why you couldn't just leave it in the primary with the yeast for a while longer and then rack off the sediment when it's closer to finishing? Maybe someone with knowledge of this kit will give more insight. Does this kit have fruit, skins, or oak additions that they might be trying to seperate off with this early transfer?

I'd be tempted to wait until the SG dropped to 1.010 and then rack into the carboy leaving the sediment behind.

That is odd. If you where to rack w/o stirring, you'd get a good cake for your SP, and the wine will likely have enough yeast suspended to keep it going, though this may slow down the rate of fermentation dramatically.