Plum wine, sharp taste

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aidan

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to wine making and I have 23L of plum wine in the carboy after 1 month sitting in carboy preceeded by 1 week of initial fermentation in plastic fermentor. I just racked it last night and had a taste, it was very sharp. I suppose you could describe it as bitter but to me 'sharp' is a better description of the taste. It was drinkable but only just. I'm wondering if this normal at this stage and will go away with aging or is it due to being overly acidic or something? And if it's the latter, can it be fixed? According to the procedure I'm following, it needs to sit another 3 months in the carboy and then at least 6 months in the bottles. My method and recipe is posted on my blog, beerandgarden dot com
Thanks in advance,
Aidan

Winemaking is the epitome of "time heals all wounds." I would bulk-age it in the carboy for the 3 months, racking off into a clean carboy as necessary if sediment builds to 3/4 to 1 inch. It should become beautifully clear with this process.

Just prior to bottling, taste it. I'll bet it is much better then. You can rack it, stabilize and use a juice concentrate flavor pack and backsweetening to adjust away much residual roughness if nedded then. Bottle and age at LEAST 6 months.

When you next taste test it, if the sharp taste is there, simply pour some granulated sugar into the bottom of the wine in your glass, swirl it around a few times, and taste again. If the sharpness is much diminished or gone, you know you have something that backsweetening or back-flavoring (or both) will control, or that age will mellow out if enough time is allowed.