WineXpert Clearing Without Fining Agents

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Len

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm fairly new at wine making and have much to learn. I'm trying to get better at it by studying all the good postings on this forum. Much of it is still way over my head. :?
I've recently read Winemaker81's postings about clearing red wines both with and without kieselsol or chitosan (K&C). He described the results of his taste test as "the use of K&C reduced the aroma significantly and introduced a bitter note into the taste."
I'd like to try clearing my current batch of Winexpert Reserve California Enigma without adding K&C. However, I'm confused about when to add the "Reserve" pack to the wine.
Do I:
1) follow the kit instructions and add the Reserve the day after I have racked the wine from the primary fermenter into a carboy and added k-meta/k-sorbate
or
b) save the Reserve and k-meta/k-sorbate for a much later time, adding only k-meta at the first racking?

I do understand that clearing the wine this way means bulk aging it much longer than the 42 days prescribed in the kit instructions. Winemaker81 aged his wines 12 months and I plan to try and do the same.
Any advice anyone can share with me is much appreciated.
-Len

If by first racking, you mean that it has been about 7 days since you pitched yeast and the sg is around 1.010 maybe 1.000, then you don't want to add anything.

if you mean it's been more like 14 days and the sg has been at something like 0.996 or less for a few days in a row, then yes at that point I rack and add K-Meta.