RJ Spagnols En Primeur Cab Sav - Pectin question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewfieMike

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm starting the kit above and it's my first time using Pectin enzyme in my primary. I know a few of you do this and/or use it with tannin (ft rouge or opti-red) and I wanted to give it a try.
My purpose is to get as much out of the skins as possible and see if there's a noticeable difference in the finished wine.

My question: This kit also came with a pectinase pack with instructions to add in secondary to help clearing after removing the skins. I wasn't planning to add this pack and I want to make sure this is ok?

I know Bryan (Winemaker81) always says to understand why you are doing something, or are not doing something. So here's my thought

I used pectin per instructions for my 6g kit in primary after adding skins and oak, no extra tannin or bentonite used. At 1.020 I will move from primary into a speidel for a 4 week EM with skins. I plan to bulk age at least 9months with oak cubes and will not use any fining agents, just k-meta.

Since clearing shouldn't be an issue, do you see any other reason for me to add this pack ?

Thanks in advance for your time

I vaguely remember reading somewhere that RJS includes that pectinase pack to deal with a pectin haze after the primary fermentation. It's really fuzzy and I did a quick google search and didn't find anything backing that up, so it might be a wine induced memory.