No chemicals

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BirdWoman

Junior
Reaction score
I've made some wine by an old recipe I found in a cookbook. The recipe didn't call for Bentonite, oak, sulfites, or any clarifying agents and as I'm a beginner, I wasn't even aware I needed any.At this point, after 4 weeks, I don't want to add any chemicals (except maybe something to stop any left over yeast growth). The wine has a nice fruity, natural taste and is very sweet, and I like it, but is not clear. What can I add to it at this point that would make it clear? Anything that's NOT a chemical? Is it ok to drink it cloudy?

Welcome BirdWoman. Glad to have you stop in.

I would say that a very large percentage of new home winemakers have the same aspirations as you and begin by using an old recipe and no chemicals. That often (but not always) changes after a few less then great batches.

One type of clarifier you could use would be bentonite. It is a clay product and as such is a natural product. It can be used pre or post fermentation, but is normally used pre-fermentation with kits. It should help clear the wine some.

A lot of the old recipes turn out sweet which suites many new wine drinkers because it uses a bread yeast, which often dies out before the wine goes dry.

Welcome BirdWoman, if you like the taste drink up. You could also chill the wine and rack in a few days. This will help clear it up some. What kind of wine and how much.

WELCOME BirdWoman,

If you don't want any chemicals there is always Egg White. Just seperate the yolk and add the white to the wine. Dont worry, It will do nothing bad to your wine.

If you can let it sit for a number of months, it may clear on its own without doing anything to it. The container would need to be fairly full, however, so that the wine does not have too much contact with oxygen.