Need Help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h089321

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a beginner and on my 3rd batch of wine. I'm making a batch on cranberry wine as instructed from a reciept on the enternet. Started Nov 7th w/sg 1.096 , Nov 13th sg @ 1.040 then went ahead and racked in 4 ea one gal jugs and air locked.Since Dec 15th sg has been @ 1.030.
Is this ok ?
can i bottle ?
thanks

Welcome aboard!!

You might have transferred to your secondary to soon. 1.040 is a pretty high SG to move to your secondary - i usually transfer mine around 1.005 - 1.010.

The yeast need the O2 in the primary to keep the fermentation active.

Your abv is going to be less than 10% as well - which means you wine will not be as protected - ideally you want the abv to be above 10%.

You might consider making a yeast starter and fermenting it down to dry.

I won't bottle, sounds like you have a stuck fermentation. What are your temps? Like Winemaker said you probably should make a yeast started to get this to ferment completely.

like the two before me we all think you should make another starter with yeast and put your wine back into your primary and ferment dry

ok, i restarted the Yeast process , it is now fermenting and the sg is 1.028 @ 64.3degrees.
when should i transfer and attach airlock?

ok, i restarted the Yeast process , it is now fermenting and the sg is 1.028 @ 64.3degrees.
when should i transfer and attach airlock?

I would put it back into your jugs when it gets around 1.010 to 1.005. A couple of degrees warmer wouldn't hurt either at this point since the batch has already shown it's capable of being naughty.