Other do I still need to degas if the wine is already very clear?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beer007

Junior
Reaction score
Hi I am new to wine making and this forum has been helpful.

I made a batch(23L) from a Chardonnay wine kit, but I did not fully follow the instructions, and did not add all those stabilizing and clearing stuff, ie, no Potassium Metabisulphite, no Kieselsol, no Potassium Sorbate, and no Chitosan. I made two batches before but followed the instrutions and used all stuff provided, but noticed some folks saying to minimize chemicals so decided to give it a try.

I started on Nov 21 2021 using fastferment 7.9G fermentor(initial SG 1.090), and racked into a 6Gallon carboy on Dec 12(after checking SG 0.992), shaked the carboy to degas at that time, and I could see air bubbles coming out. Topped up to the neck and attached airlock.

Now I think the wine is very clear and I can see through easily. My question is:
- do I still need to rack it again and degas?
- do I need to add any of those stuff which were provided but I did not use?
- is it fine to bottle now since the wine is pretty clear?

Thanks for any advice.

I took some pictures:
Bottom:

bottom.jpg

Middle:
middle.jpg

Top:
top.jpg

Definitely the K Meta imo, unless you are going for a sulfite free wine. It will protect you. I stopped using Sorbate as it’s not needed if you ferment to dry and as long as you don’t back sweeten the wine. Kieselsol and Chitosan are optional and based upon your pics I wouldn’t worry about them at this point since it appears to have cleared well without. You may not need to degas if you splash rack one more time prior to bottling. I would rack once more, add 1/4 tsp K Meta, let it clear out for a couple days then bottle