My Vines’ leaves are turning red/brown! Help!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mgoldy

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’ve been making wine from kits for a few years, and going to try my own grapes this year for the first time.
My vines’ leaves are turning red/brown. What is happening?! Help!

Attachments

• IMG_0996.jpeg
    IMG_0996.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 1
There are a lot of mineral deficiencies that can cause red color in leaves. I have a few vines with red blotch, but I don’t think that is what you have.

Your local ag extension or local private firms will be able to test for you, get your soil tested and test your leaves. This will tell you if the vine is currently deficient and what soil amendments you need for the future.
‘The ag extension or others in your area will be able to give you a good idea of what sprays and frequency you need to control the mildews and diseases in your area.

RT

UCD has a lab. I’ll take a pic of a vine with red blotch in my vineyard, which is what is common when Ive seen discoloration like this. Yours looks different to me though.

Thanks NorCal! I’m actually in NorCal - Red Bluff (near Redding).
There's a Fruit Growers Lab in Chico that will do leaf/petiole and soil analysis for you. It's about $60 each. I think it's worth it because pretty much _everything_ causes red chlorosis in red varieties. So the analysis, as long as your problem is not viral, which is a different, much more expensive test, you aren't guessing.

The report ends up looking like this...

https://www.winemakingtalk.com/threads/help-me-interpret-my-lab-results.77845/
Chico is not too far from Redding. I drive about an hour each way to get to my local FGL. Good people there also.