Lees in bottom of secondary

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fixit guy

Junior
Reaction score
I am making an apricot/white grape wine that I am making from a puree'. I transfered to secondary and have about three inches of lees on the bottom of secondary after one day. Do I need to strain these off or wait till I rack.
P.S. I am new to wine making as this is my third batch.I am hooked!
Been reading this forum and the information is incredible.
Thanks....

smiley1.gif
Edited by: Fixit guy

Well welcome aboard Mr. Fixit Guy! Glad you find it useful here. You can just leave the lees there if just transfered to the secondary. It will settle down after a while and be easier to siphon off the good wine after that. It is probably the apricot making a lot of lees. Peach does that also. Good luck with it.

Thanks Appleman, I was just making sure that I didn't mess this up.

Fixit Guy.........Edited by: Fixit guy

Let those lees compress a little or you will lose a lot of wine. I would put a wedge under 1 side of the carboy a few days before racking so you can get the racking cane on the other side and not transfer as much lees over o your next carboy. Welcome fixit and hope you stay with us.

This information is what I am looking for.
One question, when I rack can I get any juice out the sedement on the bottom or do I discard this?It seems there might be alot left in jug.

Thanks
Fixit Guy...........Edited by: Fixit guy

After it compacts you won't lose much wine. When you rack it, tip the carboy with some kind of wedge, block of wood or similar. It allows you to get extra wine without a lot of lees. You can also rack off the real dirty stuff with mostly liquid in another small bottle and airlock-let it settle out and then use the liquid at the top to top off later.