RJ Spagnols Leaking Wine Kits

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gekko4321

Reaction score
Hello. I am brand new to wine kit making and had the misfortune of receiving, not just one, but two straight leaking EP Cab Sauv boxes. The last one appears to have most of the wine in the bag (90%+), but the boxes are covered inside and out in sticky wine. I am worried over spoilage and realize it may be years before I can really see how it came out. I also will never really know what it is supposed to taste like. I wanted to see what success you have had when making leaking boxes of wine? Being new to this, I want to start with my best foot forward and this has really dampered my feelings about this. Appreciate any advice.

Hello - if you bought your kits from Winemaker's Toy Store let them know they arrived leaking and I'm pretty sure George will replace them - welcome to winemaking and hope your next experience is a better one!

Hi Gekko, welcom to the forum.

That is really a bad break. You are saying two kits of En Premier?! They are not cheap. If you bought them from George, I would contact him immediately. I would also examine the boxes to see if you can see the source of the leaks, i.e. are the bags punctured? is the box punctured? are the bags leaking around the caps?

Luckily, I have never had this problem. The worst thing I have had was some wine in the box that was a little sticky. I think the bags are probably placed in the box before being filled and the filler missed the opening. The cap was on good and tight and there were no leaks in the bag so I felt safe.

Gekko,

Thinking a little further, if the cap is on tight and there are no holes in the bag, this may not be a leak but sloppy filling of the bag. If this is the case, you can probably make the wine from the kit.