Kennell Estates Vineyard & Winery

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fivebk

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to wine making with only two batches started to date.

This last summer I decided to start making my own wines and since I live on a small acreage I decided to take the plunge full bore. I have ordered 27 vines for spring 2009 delivery. Before cold weather set in I had all my trellis poles set. Since I live in NW Missouri I had to find cold hardy grapes. I have 8 each of St Croix, Vignoles , and Frontenac Gris , coming and 3 vines of Edelweiss since I already have 3 of these started . Last spring I planted the 3 edelweiss vines and in one season they grew to the top wire and 5 feet each way. If everything goes well, I would like to be able to produce good wines from grapes I’ve grown myself. I also have two apple trees, two cherry trees (one sweet and one sour), two pear trees, three plum trees, and one peach tree. I also will be experimenting with fruit wines from these trees.
20090111_143815_DSCN1941_Small.JPG

The building in the background will be my future winemaking area.</font>

20090111_144448_DSCN1935_Small.JPG

Future Home Vineyard </font>
20090111_144500_DSCN1936_Small.JPG

20090111_144516_DSCN1939_Small.JPG

20090111_144425_DSCN1946_Small.JPG

First Year Edelweiss Vine - planted spring of 2008 </font>

20090111_144613_DSCN1856_Small.JPG

My Future winemaker - Granddaughter Caydence</font>

I did a lot of reading before I started all this and am very excited to start this project. I really enjoy this site and know that if I run into any snags along the way that there are a whole lot of folks on this site willing and able to help.

Bob</font>

OOPS!!!
Forgot to add my wine in the making.

20090111_145758_DSCN1950_Small.JPG

Apple Wine

20090111_145815_DSCN1949_Small.JPG

Cherry Zin