Jalapeno Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WineyTexan

Reaction score
I'm going to make a trial 1 gallon batch of Jalapeno Wine. Any suggestions on how many peppers to use? The recipe calls for 16 large or 8 for less heat. That's a big difference. My neighbor grew these Jalapenos and they seem very mild so I was thinking about going with the 16.

I'm new at wine making and I have never taken an acid reading. When should I do this step and what should the acid level be for a Jalapeno Wine?

I thought I'd just gradually add sugar until my SG was 1.090. Is this about where I want it?

Winey I did a Jalapeno wine 6 gallons. I added 40 jalapeno peppers and apple concentrate for the base. Runningwolf added 60. When I punched down the cap to remove it it reached out and slapped me in the face. WOW!

I believe it will be awesome but you may want to do a little less than that. My peppers were about 4 inches long. Don't know if those are considered large or small.

You want it to be a good flavor not I need to put the fire out in my mouth. Backsweeten with green apple concentrate if you like plus you could simmer it down that way to.

Runningwolf will let you know how his is. We sampled it and enjoyed it very much. Mine I will age until @ March.

Enjoy and again welcome.

I added 10 per gallon. The next one if I do it will be 6-8 per gallon. I did backsweeten and added an f-pack. Mine was also an apple base.

i did both an apple juice based and a white grape concentrate based , both with 13 Jalapenos (my lucky number).

i'm with Dan, next time will be 6 or so.
even after adding an additional can of concentrate (cheater f-pack) to each and adjusting the SG to about 1.013 (if i recall correctly. sorry, notes at the house) with sugar they are still "dare ya" hot.

But then again, we aren't from Texas. :)