Home made Degassing tool

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shanek17

Reaction score
hey everyone so I got some batches of wine which are finishing up soon, and I got thinking how im going to degas them; this is actually my first time that I will be trying it since im new to wine making! Im making an apple wine and a red grape wine and thought okay I could degas them by hand, but then I hear others talking about these tools that they stick in their cordless drills to improve the process.

So it got me wondering if anyone has succesfully made their own home made de gassing equipment? Any luck with this , or any ideas ?

I tried once to cut and heat up a plastic coat hanger with boiling water and bend it into a shape that would fit in the carboy, this looked just like the ticket but when I put in the drill I found out real quick that it was out of balance and did not last long. mean while the wife is thumping me in the head for sending a plastic missal through the house :)

Ive heard of people doing this with a few dowels together. Me, Id spend a fw bucks on the stainless steel mixstir. It will last forever and the blades are replaceable for a few bucks when they wear out. After 5 years I replaced the blades and its like brand new again. This being perfectly balanced is much easier on your drill and wont werar out the bearings in your drill like anything off balance will. These are also great for whipping in some 02 into your must and getting it stirred up good so you can get a accurate starting sg unlike when not mixed up well and then over shooting your starting sg.