Gelatin Fining Wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattsbrewery

Reaction score
I am very new to wine making, but make lots of beer. I often use gelatin to clear up a hazy beer. Can this be used with wine? I know I'd have to cool it to below 50*, but that's not an issue for me. Has anyone else tried it?

I have not used this for wine. But I have doing all grain. Mostly "time" will work both in Beer and Winemaking. There are however plenty of clairifiers made for wine. If you plan on doing kits then everything is included. If making wine from fruit, juice or grapes then you can check back here as to what we reccomend.

I mostly plan on doing fruit wines, although I do have my eye on a kit or two as well. Big "thumbs up" on the clarifier "Time"! Nothing works as well as patience in beer either.

Wine making needs MORE patience than beer.

What kind of fruit wine you gona make? I make Straw, Blue, Peach, Cran ras and some fruit blends

We make a lot of fruit wines here and time is the best but sometimes something extra may be needed to bottle early if you need a carboy or for that stubborn wine that just wont clear on its own and it does happen! I use SuperKleer KC when time just doesnt do its thing or when Im pressed for time and it works great every time.

Gelatin is generally used in wine to remove astringency/bitterness.It can be kinda rough and possibly remove more than is desired. There are many other fining agents that aid clearing but time is generally the best measure. Here is a book excerpt if interested:

http://books.google.com/books?id=Zf-24UvvT4oC&pg=PA95&lpg=PA95&dq=astringency+and+gelatin&source=bl&ots=yuL2xN477J&sig=uBOCW2jQBsMwbqEvpqJA5pFbIfQ&hl=en&ei=nxb1SdavG6HOMd2gnKkP&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=5#PPA95,M1

Jeff

Edit: Another weblink...Take note of the mention of "Lab (Bench) Trials"