Bucket to Carbouy Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SPR

Reaction score
I am a newbie so forgive this basic question but I was wondering when you guys transfer your wine from the usual plastic bucket into a carbouy.

I have been making wine for around 4 months and fermenting in a plastic sealed bucket with airlock for the first 7-10 days and then transferring to a carbouy with an airlock for the following stages I was wondering if it's OK to leave in the bucket with an airlock until it's been stabilised and de gassed as it saves transferring it around as it's much easier to degas In a bucket than carbouy

I'm making the high end Winexpert kits mainly and Kenridge.

Why do you ferment with the lid on and an airlock in the bucket, are they white wines? There is a range some people aim for transferring to a carboy, some do it as 1.020 and some let it go all the way to dry, since its saturated with CO2 even at the dry end its safe in a bucket, then you transfer it to a carboy with an airlock to let it clear and age. If you are making high end kits you need to treat them like high end kits and stop thinking its a PIA to rack, its a normal part of the whole process. WVMJ

I say no, for two reasons. First you need to get the wine off the lees and oak chips during the process and racking is what helps you do that. Second, at least my primary bucket, does not have an air tight lid. During primary that's not an issue because the fermenting wine releases CO2 which is heavier than air and creates a cap between the wine and oxygen. As fermenting slows and stops this cap can be disturbed leaving your wine exposed to oxygen. The surface area of a bucket is much much larger than the surface area exposed in a carboy, plus you will get a better seal with a bung and airlock than the lid of a bucket and airlock.

Last edited: