Stirring White Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jkim888

Junior
Reaction score
Hello -

I'm new to wine making and had a question about the stirring frequency. This is my first white grape PAIL, a Gewurz from Brehm Vinyards. I have a decent experience with red varietals.

The gewurz is about 1.012 gravity today and should be another 7-10 days to ferment dry at around 55f.

Since the beginning it has been in a glass carboy with an airlock, and only opened to swirl and let some oxygen in. So far i've been swirling the glass carboy daily for about 4 weeks now. As the wine is approaching the lower end of fermentation I wonder how often I should stir without losing essential aromatics? I will likely have to swirl it again over the course of the week because there is about a 1" sediment that falls out pretty quickly. I dont plan on racking into a secondary vessel, but just leave it there until it's dry, then rack and sulfited.

Should I just keep the airlock on and swirl it enough so that the sediment on the bottom is released? Just worried that I may have lost some aromatics/induced oxidization(although tastes fine) by swirling a bit too vigorously daily near the end of fermentation.

Last edited:
I wouldn't swirl or stir any more.
At 1.012 I'd rack to another carboy after letting it settle for a day or two.
For future reference, yeast only need O2 to reproduce and once the alcohol hit 10% ABV they do not reproduce any more and no more O2 is needed. Not sure what your original gravity was but if it was a typical white wine OG you are past 10% ABV.
Do you plan to bottle directly from this primary fermenter? If so, how will you keep the sediment out of the bottles?