Would adding Oak to any of these be a good idea?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juggernaut

Reaction score
I have three Chilean wine buckets fermenting now. A Cabernet Sauvignon, a Malbec, and a Carmenere. Would adding oak be a good idea with any of these. I've never used oak before. Also my dad is a wood worker and has oak. Can I just get some cubes from him to add?

I would say that it all depends on your taste in wine. I personally like oak in my wines, especially reds like you're doing. But it really is a matter of taste.

That said, I would STRONGLY advise you NOT to just get some cubes from your dad and add them. Doing that would ruin those great wine buckets you're working on. Order some oak especially made for use in winemaking. Any of the online distributors or LHBS will have it.

I don't really know what oak in wine tastes like, but I think I'm going to go ahead and add some. Would you add American or French oak chips to all three, and how toasted should the chips be?

I'm not sure where you're at in the fermentation process, but it sounds like you may still be in the primary fermentation phase. Since you've never had oak in wine before, I'd recommend that you use around 4 oz of French oak in the secondary fermentation phase. In the Cab, I'd probably go for heavy toast. In the other two a medium toast. Others may have better suggestions than me. But like I said, it really is a matter of taste.

Tom, great advice. I ended up putting oak powder in mine during fermentation. I will test it later and may add some oak sticks later. I was undecided on which oak to use, so I added 50/50 of each.