Use of oak chips in making Cabernet Sauvignon

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daniel Moy

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Dan and I am new to making wine in kits. I just purchased a Master Vintner Sommelier Select Old Vine Cabernet Sauvignon wine kit. It contains three bags of oak chips so I am assuming that they are American, French, and Hungarian oak. Question: Does anyone know if I am supposed to add all the chips from all three bags to make my 6 gallons of wine? Or..am I only supposed to add one type or another in certain quantities? Any advise you can provide would be very much appreciated. I am just starting to do this and do not want to screw this up! Thx

Welcome to WMT!

You just did the wisest thing you could do as a new winemaker -- you asked questions first! It's far easier to set you on a good path than it is to fix problems.

I found your kit instructions on the NorthernBrewer.com site -- look at days 6-14 -- the oak is aging oak. That means you add it after fermentation is complete, while the wine is aging.

Read the instructions, start-to-finish, 3 times. Make notes and post questions if something doesn't make sense. The only stupid question is the one you don't post.

Winemaking is very easy, but the first time you do it, it can be scary. Before you start the kit, get comfortable with how the process goes. You will do fine -- we have beginners start on this forum every week, and 99% do just fine, if they follow the instructions.

Welcome to WMT!

You just did the wisest thing you could do as a new winemaker -- you asked questions first! It's far easier to set you on a good path than it is to fix problems.

I found your kit instructions on the NorthernBrewer.com site -- look at days 6-14 -- the oak is aging oak. That means you add it after fermentation is complete, while the wine is aging.