Wine Testing Equipment

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David219

Reaction score
I have been making wine from kits for around three years. Generally, I just follow the directions as far as the chemistry goes, including the addition of the extra 1/4 tsp k meta when suggested in the instructions. I am considering investing in a barrel, and I understand that barrel aging can have a more dramatic influence on sulfite levels. What testing equipment should I have to make sure my levels are appropriate for aging? Are there charts or apps that easily assist analyzing the data? Any help or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

A Vinmetrica SC-100A and a cheap pH meter should be all you need to start testing SO2.

It's a good idea to consider the SC-300A if you plan on testing TA in the future. It has SO2, pH and TA all in one.

https://vinmetrica.com/

There are many charts around and resources to help you out. So a search for SO2 and you'll find tonnes of stuff. I plan on doing a tutorial sometime in the near future on SO2 testing.

A Vinmetrica SC-100A and a cheap pH meter should be all you need to start testing SO2.

It's a good idea to consider the SC-300A if you plan on testing TA in the future. It has SO2, pH and TA all in one.

https://vinmetrica.com/

There are many charts around and resources to help you out. So a search for SO2 and you'll find tonnes of stuff. I plan on doing a tutorial sometime in the near future on SO2 testing.

All good info except a cheap ph meter. Get a decent one. I have the SC-100A and if I was to buy a new one today I also would also get the 300 that would do S02, ph and TA. I use the winemakers magazine's calculator to determine my S02 level and additions.