Welch Grape Juice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rosa6329

Reaction score
Well I am new to this wine making business. My girlfriend is purchasing me a wine kit along with a wine press. So while I wait for that to come, I was eager to start making mine. Therefore I purchased two welch's juice containers not the frozen one. I forgot to measure the sg before and after I added sugar. So what I have done so far was take out little less than two cups of juice in each container and added one cup of sugar to each. Then I split one yeast packet in half for each container. I know that during fermentation it will bubble and release gas. I am on the fourth day so far and its still bubbling. I went to measure the sg and I am at 1.072 on both containers. Is it too late to syphon the juice into a bigger container and add more water? Does it even need more water? What do you think? Is it suppose to smell bad? haha

You can move them both to a bigger container but i wouldnt add water.

Smell 'bad', as in? rotten eggs or what?.. Bad is a very general term and the more general you are, the less help you're likely to find here. We're sticklers for the details, as that's where one's mistakes are usually found.

Chalk it up as an experiment, enjoy the ride & know theres more to do, better notes to take, when you approach a more serious batch.

You can move them both to a bigger container but i wouldnt add water.

Smell 'bad', as in? rotten eggs or what?.. Bad is a very general term and the more general you are, the less help you're likely to find here. We're sticklers for the details, as that's where one's mistakes are usually found.

Chalk it up as an experiment, enjoy the ride & know theres more to do, better notes to take, when you approach a more serious batch.