Water Quality

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wiz

Reaction score
This is just an information question. I don't have a problem with water I use as it is well water. What is the problems with usig water that has been chlorine treated. Does it impart a flavor or does it impede fermentation?

Mike

Unless the water is very highly chlorinated it will dissipate especially if you use sulfites first in primary. Im no scientist but I know there is another form that many counties use instead of chlorine now and Im pretty sure its that one that doesnt dissipate much on contact with sulfite.

I live in a small town and our water is usually not chlorinated. Last year, we had a line break and they chlorinated for a while for safety. Had a bunch of minnows for fishing, the chlorine killed em off immediatly. Started a batch of wine before I realized the chlorine was in there. Killed the yeast off. Waited a couple of days for the chlorine to bleed off and repitched the yeast. Took off just fine. Now if I think they have chlorinated the water, and I am in the new wine mood, I go to the grocery store and buy spring water. It works just fine. Arne.

That must have been a heavy dose of chlorine!

Wade, I think its Hydrogen Peroxide (H2O2) but I bet PeterZ would know for sure over at FVW's forum.

"Scotch eggs" !

A tasty concoction, hard boiled egg surrounded/enclosed by pork sausage meat rolled in breadcrumbs and deep fried. To stop the egg yolk turning black, the eggs are soaked for 24 hours in Hydrogen Peroxide (H2O2) !

If you leave clorinated water out inthe sun for the day, the clorine will dissipate. I make wine in a very hard water (limestone) area. Wine is still drinkable ! Cheers, Tony