Sweetening Wines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

byurod

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first time making wine and I'm ready to bottle my first batch. It is made from muscadine grapes and it tastes a little bitter. My wife and I prefer dry wines but I think we may need to sweeten this a little. I'm aware that I need to stalize the mixture to prevent a secondary fermentation, but I have no idea how much sugar I should add. Are there any rules of thumb as to how much sugar should be added for each gallon of wine?

You make a mixture of 2 part sugar to one part water and boil. I am no expert at this though. I am sure as soon as Waldo sees this post he will give you ample directions. He is our resident Muscadine Wine expert. You may have to deal with the acidity as well. He will take good care of you. I am heading out the door now to a local nursery that I saw this morning has muscadine vines and they are on sale. I am going to see what they have and hopefully in a couple yearsI will have a few of my own to play with.

Smurfe
smiley1.gif
Edited by: smurfe

Smurfe,

Let me know how the trip to the nursery went. I haven't found any nurseries in La that carry muscadine vines. I've been getting mine from Missouri & Georgia & most of them haven't made it.

byurod, give me a little background info as to the recipe you used on your Muscadine. I have made a lot of Muscadine and I have never had one turn out bitter. The tartness I always have to adjust before fermentation and as a rule of thumb I use 1oz Calcium Carbonate per 5 gallon initially and then add more if needed. The one oz normally suffices for me. The only thing I could think of that might possibly cause a bitterness is if the fruit was not fully ripened and it would not take much of it not being ripe to impart a bitter whang. Edited by: Waldo

Waldo,