Steam Juice Extraction

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NorthernWinos

Reaction score
WALDO...RE: Steam Juice Extraction
Most all of my wines have been made with recipes from the book WINEMAKING by Anderson & Anderson....most of those recipes call for 12-20 pounds of fruit and 2 bottles of WineExPert [type] wine grape concentrate for a 5-6 gallon recipe. I have never made wine with fruit pulp in the must. I am new to winemaking and am only on my 17th batch of wine.
Had always just made assorted breakfast juices, jelly and pancake syrup with the juices from the steamer, when winemaking came to us, it was an experiment to use these juices, and have been very pleased....the wines are usually clear at the first or second racking....[except for some wild plum wine that almost got thrown out.]
We have been making drinking grape juice for years and I am soon going to try some wine from the steam extracted grape juice. The only grapes I have producing now are Valiant & Beta [Concord type] grapes and the juice is just like Welch's. Have about 15 various hardy wine grapes planted and the future is uncertain, only time will tell, winters are long and brutal here. I am not familiar with your Mustadines, are they sweet??? Compared to what other type of grape??? Like a table grape???