CORONATION Table GRAPES.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TonsOfPlums

Junior
Reaction score
I have access to CORONATION Table GRAPES But only know that they are similar to Concord. Anybody used them and/or has a recip, I might give them a try. The wife has a steam juicer that renders fruit down to a husk and seems to make very good juice, so, I may also incorporate it into the process. Anyone shed light on wine from a steamed juice and results?

So I’ve attached a photo of the juice extractor and think I may try it on a batch of coronation grapes.

Attachments

• IMG_0092.jpeg
    IMG_0092.jpeg
    204.7 KB · Views: 0
I have very little experience with grapes but many have said table grapes are inferior to wine grapes. Fact? Opinion? I don't know.

I've used various juicing processes for my jelly and they all work. Haven't used a steam juicer for wine yet. You got the grapes, you got the juicer, I say go for it! Live and learn! Let us know how it turns out.

Table grapes are grown for quantity, while wine grapes are grown from quality. There can be a marked difference. But you have the grapes so I can't see a reason for not trying it.

While I haven't worked with steamed juice, in the end it's juice. Check the SG, and if it's below 1.085, add sugar to bump it up to at least 1.085. Since you've applied heat, I'd add pectic enzyme to remove any problems with pectin haze.

It's worth testing pH. You can get inexpensive test strips that will let you know the range the pH is in.

Beyond that, add yeast nutrient, a wine yeast, and let 'er rock!

Thanks guys. Think I might give it a shot if the grapes are still available. What do you use to raise or lower ph and what should a good ph number be? I have 23 liter carboys, so about 6 US gallons.