Peisporter Racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JD25

Reaction score
Hi all. The piesporterI started on December 26th is clearing nicely - actually quite clear. I have racked it 3 times in the past 2 weeks. How longshouldI wait to bottle?Do I need to add the camden tablets to the wine before bottling,I have spoke to 2 wine shops with different perspectives? I'm a novice at this so any input would be great.

Thanks,
JD

Welcome JD,
Is this a kit wine and who was the manufacturer?

The Piesporter is a good early drinking white so won't need extended aging,so the normal doses of K-Meta included in the kit should be OK. If it is good and clear now, it could be bottled now, but bulk aging another few weeks to a month would guarantee that there are no more suspended solids to drop out.

OK....I'll have time this weekend to bottle the piesporter. I have viewed a piece of white paper behind a sample and it looks (and tasted!) great. DoI need to do anything else the wine before bottling? How long should I wait to drink it?

Should I wait a little longer.....i'm getting anxious?

I would give it a month after bottling, to get over any possible "botttle shock", which can cause your wines flavor to go into hiding. Hopefully, you will have a partial bottle left overto enjoywhen bottling.
Dave

JD, Welcome.