Help! Raspberry wine stuck at 1.000 SG.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

janiekay

Junior
Reaction score
Hi fellow wino's!
I've been getting help from this site by reading posts for quite a while, but this is my first post.
I've been making fruit wines for quite a few years now (since 2015). This past winter, we went south for about 5 months- first time I've left wine that long, because it wasn't ready to bottle before we left. I just re-racked the wine, and the SG is 1.000. I usually wait until SG is .990 because I like a dry wine, but the wine is totally clear. It does however look like it is still doing something because the airlock is bubbling. I do have the sediment from the final (or so I thought) racking. Should I add this back into the carboy and stir and see what happens or should I mix up some more yeast and try to start fermentation that way? I'm thinking that it didn't finish fermenting because of 2 things: 1) it was colder than normal in my basement where I have the wine, and 2) I didn't stir or rack it for 5 months.
Any ideas?

Attachments

• 20230629_131031.jpg
    20230629_131031.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230629_131106.jpg
    20230629_131106.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
Couple of things.

Letting the wine set without touching it will not stop a fermentation, although if the wine got too cold, that can slow it down or stop it. How cold did the wine get?

Ferments do not necessarily go to 0.990, depending on what's in the wine. Heavy reds may not go below 0.998. Previous ferments all going to 0.990 does not mean this one will, too. I've also had ferments stop above 1.000 and nothing I did got them going again, and I have no idea why.

Taste the wine -- do you taste sugar? If not, it could be done. The bubbles you see could be outgassing, so that's no indication of fermentation.