Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Griff

Reaction score
Hey all! Newbie here but been lurking for a few weeks, and me and 26 yr. old grandson got interested in making the Sk-P. We put it together per Lon's recipe (thanks Lon) on 3-03 and added the yeast the next day. So far it's progressed along very nicely, and SG test this morning showed 1.020. So far, so good. Woohoo! :)

From reading the posts, I'm a little confused tho. If I'm reading right, some of you racked to the carboy around this time, and some let it ferment on out to dry in the primary? My inclination is to let it ferment on out in the primary, dish towel covered so that it's easier to keep whipping in the oxygen until it gets completely dry. Now that some of you are experienced at making this stuff, which method has worked the best for you?

Any advice is very much appreciated. :)

Griff welcome to the forum. The choice is your's as to whether you keep it in the primary or rack to a carboy. But now that your sg is down to 1.02 you should keep it under an air lock. You want to protect your wine at this point from oxygen.

welcome aboard... I've been letting things ferment to dry in primary. Pop on an airlock after a couple of days to protect the wine from o2 after primary.

I agree! I ferment to dry in the primary. at this point I would snap the top down and put an airlock on it to protect it.. Welcome to the forum..

Thanks for the fast replies everyone, and thanks for the nice welcome. My pee is now in the carboy, airlocked, & happily perking away. Grandson brought me 25lb. bag of sugar and more lemon and lime juice and since I have lots of empty carboys I'm thinking about cleaning out the primary and starting another batch. Lemon/lime this time. :h

What do you recommend? 32 oz. ReaLemon and 64 oz. ReaLime juice?