Hello from middle-America

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ness

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,
I've been making wine off-and-on, mostly off, since the early 1970s, when I was around 13. It started when a buddy of mine and I read about World War II POWs putting raisins into water and letting it ferment. We tried it ... and instead opted to sneak a little of his dad's jug wine instead.

I kept at it, mostly doing concord wine from store-bought juice. My parents weren't exactly thrilled, but probably figured there wasn't much harm I could do. My aunt Mary got wind of this and thought it was pretty interesting that a kid would be into this kind of thing. So, she went out and found this book for me:

IMG_2382-L.jpg

I really love the inscription inside:
IMG_E2383-L.jpg

I continued making some wine: concord, elderberry, etc. Some friends and I took the plunge into beer brewing in the late 1980s and 1990s. But, kids came along and we gave it up. I made a few wines over the years, but started concentrating on ciders about 10 years ago. I made a few good ones, but nothing remarkable.

In 2022 I decided I'd try a couple kit wines. I did a Winexpert Super Tuscan and Chardonnay. This really got me interested in getting back into it. The Chardonnay is excellent, the Super Tuscan is good but a bit flabby. I think this is a good path for me going forward and I intend to do more.